RoboBoat Competition

Questions on 2013 Preliminary Rules

  • 1.  Questions on 2013 Preliminary Rules

    Posted 18-01-2013 17:54
    Hi all,
    Just had some questions regarding the preliminary rules that were just released.

    1.  For the shoot through the hoops challenge, will there be any penalty for firing multiple missed shots among ones that hit their targets?

    2.  For the sneaky sprinkler challenge, will there be a penalty for pressing both buttons as opposed to just pressing the correct one?

    3.  The rules mention that the challenges are to be completed in order.  What is this order and is there a penalty for doing the challenges out of order?

    -------------------------------------------
    Zackary Knoll
    Student
    Bradley University
    Peoria IL
    United States
    -------------------------------------------
    Test


  • 2.  RE:Questions on 2013 Preliminary Rules

    Posted 22-01-2013 01:22
    Hi Zachary,

    I am glad to hear your team is excited to enter the 2013 RoboBoat competition!

    > 1.  For the shoot through the hoops challenge, will there be any penalty for firing multiple missed
    > shots among ones that hit their targets?

    The final rules are not completed yet, but I am not planning to have any penalty in place for firing multiple shots on the hoops challenge.

    > 2.  For the sneaky sprinkler challenge, will there be a penalty for pressing both buttons as opposed
    > to just pressing the correct one?

    For the sneaky sprinkler, we are not planning any penalty there, but may provide bonus points for hitting the right one the first time


    > 3.  The rules mention that the challenges are to be completed in order.  What is this order and is there a
    > penalty for doing the challenges out of order?

    Different sections of the prelim rules seems to be conflicting on this. The reasons is that different sections of the course have different rules. For example, you must complete the starting and speeding gate in order. If you choose to do the navigation challenge, you must complete it after the speeding gate. But after that it is completely up to you to decide the order you will attempt the challenge stations. For the starting & speeding gate, the penalty for not completing in order is to prevent accumulation of any other points. For the navigation challenge, no penalty has been defined because I never envisioned someone would want to do that, but I would say that you don't get points if it is not completed after the speeding gate.


    Let me know if you have more questions.

    Felix







    Test