RoboSub Competition

Laurel Transport & Replace

  • 1.  Laurel Transport & Replace

    Posted 24-06-2012 20:26
    I just need a bit of clarification about the Laurel Wreath task. Do the rules allow for both transportation and replacement of the laurel? Does "stacking" the laurels at the second octagon count as a replacement? Is this a valid move?

    Thanks,
     - Jeff

    -------------------------------------------
    Jeff Heidel
    Cornell University Autonomous Underwater Vehicle
    Software Subteam
    Ithaca NY
    United States
    -------------------------------------------
    Test


  • 2.  RE:Laurel Transport & Replace

    Posted 25-06-2012 11:33
    The rules definitely allow for transportation and replacement of the laurel, it will just be harder with a second laurel already in place.  Which is why there are vertical posts on the stand to help catch a second laurel.

    My plan was to call it "replaced" if it's somehow hanging off the stand.  If it strikes the stand but then falls to the bottom, that won't be counted as replaced, but would be counted as dropped (assuming that you surfaced first with the laurel).

    -------------------------------------------
    David Novick
    Albuquerque NM
    United States
    -------------------------------------------






    Test


  • 3.  RE:Laurel Transport & Replace

    Posted 25-06-2012 11:45
    [UF]
    Just to confirm, if we choose to transport the wreath to the other area to drop it, will there be a 2nd wreath on the 2nd stand? Or will the 2nd stand be empty?


    [Dave]
    The rules definitely allow for transportation and replacement of the laurel, it will just be harder with a second laurel already in place.  Which is why there are vertical posts on the stand to help catch a second laurel.

    My plan was to call it "replaced" if it's somehow hanging off the stand.  If it strikes the stand but then falls to the bottom, that won't be counted as replaced, but would be counted as dropped (assuming that you surfaced first with the laurel).

    [Jeff]
    I just need a bit of clarification about the Laurel Wreath task. Do the rules allow for both transportation and replacement of the laurel? Does "stacking" the laurels at the second octagon count as a replacement? Is this a valid move?
    Test


  • 4.  RE:Laurel Transport & Replace

    Posted 25-06-2012 11:54
    I hate this format... Have I said that this year...?

    -------------------------------------------
    David Novick
    Albuquerque NM
    United States
    -------------------------------------------






    Test